I was recently fired by a company and it has been a week but still no check. I know Arizona Law requires to be paid within 72 hours. My question is since they have not what actions can be taken? Do they owe me 3 times my check or do the not owe me any more then what is suppose to be paid?
An employer in Arizona who fires a worker must pay the worker within 3 working days. School districts have 10 calendar days to pay the employee. Employees who quit must be paid on the next regular payday. Under Arizona statute 23-350, when wages owed to an employee are no more than $2,500.00 and the accrual of those unpaid wages does not exceed one year, the employee may file a wage claim with the Industrial Commission of Arizona.
The Department will issue a Final Order requiring that the employer pay the worker. If the employer does not comply within 10 days after the Final Order is issued, then the employer must pay triple the amount. Employees have the option of filing a lawsuit in court for back wages. However, they cannot file both a wage claim with the state and a lawsuit – so it’s wiser to file a wage claim. This can be done online at: http://www.ica.state.az.us/Divisions/labor/wage_claims.html.
3 Responses to “Arizona Law regarding final pay after being fired?”
Leave a Reply
- Attendance Management (1447)
- Benefits (2036)
- Compensation (2351)
- Employment Training (329)
- Hiring and Staffing (1019)
- Human Resources Management (4855)
- Labor Laws (1593)
- Management / Leadership Development (357)
- Performance Management (247)
- Structural Development (41)
- Termination (749)
- Workplace Health & Safety (348)
- Workplace Management (503)